Home > About


About this Website

This website commemorates the 50th anniversary of the National Endowment for the Humanities by showcasing fifty years of NEH-funded projects at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The website was created by John Moore, a PhD candidate in the English Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. MaryCate Most, IPRH intern, assisted with its production. The IPRH would like to thank the Office of the Provost for providing generous financial support for the development of the site, Harriett Green at the University Library for guidance with the Omeka platform, and the Scholarly Commons for the use of its Omeka subscription. Our thanks go to Nancy Abelmann and Maria Gillombardo for their editorial input. We would also like to thank the many Illinois faculty who participated in video interviews: Kevin Hamilton, Kathleen Harleman, Chris Higgins, Diane Koenker, Mireya Loza, Sandy Prita Meier, Robert Michael Morrissey, Wayne Pitard, François Proulx, Allyson Purpura, Valeria Sobol, Caroline Szylowicz, Jennifer Hain Teper, Ted Underwood, and Mara Wade. Thank you as well to all of the faculty who provided information about their research grants: Robert W. Barrett, Dennis Baron, Orville Vernon Burton, Ramona Curry, J. Stephen Downie, Alma Gottlieb, Phillip Graham, Chris Higgins, Frederick E. Hoxie, Craig M. Koslofsky, Susan Koshy, Laura Kozuch, Gayle Sherwood Magee, Jordana Mendelson, Cary Nelson, Timothy Pauketat, Leslie Reagan, Mahir Şaul, Ellen D. Swain, D. Fairchild Ruggles, Oscar Vázquez. Last but not least, we thank former IPRH Director Dianne Harris, who conceived of the exhibition in the first place.

In addition to the online exhibit, IPRH has produced a booklet showcasing all NEH awards to the University of Illinois system in the past 50 years. The booklet is available to read online.

This online exhibition was compiled based on information provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities. If you notice an error or omission, please let us know, and we will correct it. Please bear in mind that this exhibition reflects awards made to primary PIs whose institutional affiliation was with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign at the time of the award. Therefore, the exhibition does not necessarily reflect the awards Urbana campus faculty might have received at junctures in their careers when they were either at other institutions or part of grant projects for which the NEH lists a PI at another institution as the primary recipient. In this sense, what is available here is but a partial snapshot of the full impact of NEH awards on University of Illinois faculty and staff and the work those awards have facilitated.

About the Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities

Established in 1997, the Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities (IPRH) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign promotes interdisciplinary study in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. IPRH serves as the primary locus for and promotes endeavors related to these fields on the University of Illinois campus and beyond. IPRH plans and hosts lectures, symposia, and panel discussions on a wide variety of topics, bringing distinguished scholars from the United States and around the world to our campus; grants fellowships to Illinois faculty and graduate students and to post-doctoral scholars to support their research and scholarly activities; provides awards that recognize excellence in humanities research on our campus; awards grants to support collaborative research; and coordinates faculty and graduate-student reading groups.